Meet The Team

Zuben Jessa

Director of Project Development
Email: zuben.jessa@enertrag.co.za

Zuben is an experienced civil engineer and entrepreneur with a Masters in Environmental Management from Kingston University (UK). He joins ENERTRAG South Africa as a stalwart in South Africa’s renewable energy market.

Over the past seven years he has developed a project pipeline of 190MW, with the 102MW Copperton Wind Farm due to start construction in 2018. His passion for wind power development is complemented by his dedication to excellence and innovation.

Stephen Koopman

Director of Business Operations
Email: stephen.koopman@enertrag.co.za

Stephen is responsible for business operations at ENERTRAG South Africa. Before this, he formed part of the leadership team responsible for establishing an energy centre at the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

His experience in the energy sector spans 23 years and includes various roles in Eskom, ranging from Regional Sales Manager (when there was excess capacity in…



Dr. Tobias Bischof-Niemz

CEO of ENERTRAG South Africa
Email: Tobias.Bischof-Niemz@enertrag.com

Dr. Tobias Bischof-Niemz is a Director of ENERTRAG South Africa, and the Head of Corporate Business Development at ENERTRAG AG, Germany. Before joining ENERTRAG in…



Dr. Gunar Hering

Chief Financial Officer of Enertrag AG
Email: Gunar.Hering@enertrag.com

Gunar is on the advisory board, helping direct the company’s global footprint. Previously with the Boston Consulting Group and having consulted on South Africa’s IRP, Gunar adds 20 years’ experience in high-level development finance focused on the energy sector.


Gerd Spenk

Advisory to ENERTRAG South Africa
Email: gerd.spenk@enertrag.com

A long-time associate of ENERTRAG AG. He brings a wealth of industry knowledge and experience to our team. Working in the global renewable space for almost 40 years, Gerd has successfully built ENERTRAG’s French business and was responsible for installing 300MW of capacity and developing 600MW.


Mischa Blecher

Project Developer
Email: mischa.blecher@enertrag.co.za

A skilled researcher and out-of-the-box thinker, Mischa has experience in the fields of rural land rights and policy, rural and urban housing, and project management.


Yasmina Dada

Project Developer
Email: yasmina.dada@enertrag.co.za

Yasmina has completed a year-long internship at Mainstream Renewable Power and holds a Honours in Environmental Management and Sustainable Development (UCT) and a Bachelors in Environmental and Geographical Sciences, Media and Writing, and Sociology (UCT).


Raymond Takuba

Project Developer
Email: raymond.takuba@enertrag.co.za

Raymond is an experienced project developer and energy researcher. Prior to joining ENERTRAG South Africa he worked for four years as a Development Executive at Mainstream Renewable Power, focusing on project pipelines in Africa, particularly the South African renewable energy program.



Wayne Smith

Project Developer: New Segments
Email: wayne.smith@enertrag.co.za

Wayne is an experienced wind energy engineer having worked in the industry for 10 years with particular expertise in the electrical aspects of wind farm design, wind turbine technology and integration into distribution networks.


Mbali Mabaso

Project Development Support Engineer
Email: mbali.mabaso@enertrag.co.za

Mbali worked for the Tongaat Hulett Group as an Engineer-In-Training at their agri-processing mills in Johannesburg and Cape Town. In her previous freelance work she’s taken part in independent research studies focusing on topics such as the…